Rigging with Mirror modifier? Can it be done?

Hi! I’m new to Blender and new to 3D modeling. I’m working on my first mesh model and learning things as I go.

My question is: I’ve created the model using the mirror modifier and I’m about to start working on the rigging and texturing soon. Is it possible to rig or UV-map a model without applying the mirror modifier first, for example, if I want to make changes to the model at later time? Or should I just bite my lip, apply the modifier and work from that?

Thanks for your time!

you will be able to uv map as if it the modifier wasn’t there

however when assigning vertex groups, I think you’ll have to do it the old way

delete the mirror modifier, setup the vertex groups on the one side of your mesh, tweak the weight painting and whatnot. Then [shift+d] duplicate and flip your mesh. Rename the vertex groups that correspond with the other side [change all the .L or .Left to .R or .Right or vice versa], then join with your original and remove doubles.

[I’d think such a feature would have been added… but I haven’t seen it yet]

Thanks, I appreciate your answer!

So I take it that there isn’t really an easy way around it and I should just suck it up? I have a friend who’s more in the know with these things and he said this was possible in Max, and that’s why I had to ask.

Apply the modifier. You’ll want to look for information on UV mapping on the web – look for LSCM, pinning, and marking seams. The next version of Blender’s going to have an even better unwrapping algorithm, although I’m not sure if it’s made it to CVS yet.