Rode NT1-A condenser microphone

There are plenty of different microphones out there. A lot of them having a mesh which protect microphone capsule from mechanical damage. Its those thing from metal mesh which for “generic” microphone would have like a half sphere shape.
But intheresting fact about this specific RODE microphone is that it have the most complicated mesh in terms of modeling. Meshes bended to cylinders - ez-pz. Spherical meshes, box like meshes with rounded edges - also not complicated at all.
But this RODE have the most complicated mesh.
Cant say i saw all the microphones in the world, but it the past i was a sound engineer and saw a lot of them.

So because microphone body are not complicated at all, and shock-mounting also are relatively simple for modeling i was decided to start from most complicated part - the mesh.

It will requare i bit more tuning for side area, but in general its not a bad result at all.

5 Likes

[sound engineer here too] Very nice work on that mesh and up to references.
What modeling methods did you use here?

BTW - there’s also that tiny dense mesh inside the bigger one

1 Like

Classic technique with dynamically unfolded base shape mesh as a target for Surface Deform.

Yup, but they are more simple to model, so i left them for later.
Also im not sure would it be worth it to model them, or just use a textures.

Microphone mesh - my workflow:

1. create base shape - boxoidal or similar:
    a) unwrap it
    b) using TexTools create mesh from this unwrappin’ - this step also creates shape-key, which is crucial in this whole process
    c) now you need to modify this mesh into disc and make it more dense [similarly dense as final microphone mesh]
  • you must do it in ‘shape-key edit mode’
  • now when you slide shape-key this flat disc will transform into base microphone shape
  1. create one cell of microphone mesh:
    a) multiply it via Array modifier, join overlapping vertices
    b) convert to curve