Ropes and sails

Hi. I am kinda new to Blender and 3D animation in general so this is probably a very noob question:
I want to animate a square sail (as cloth) pinned along the top row of vertices (this i can do). I also want to tie down the lower corners using ‘ropes’ of a different material (maybe a cloth or soft body that stretches). What I want to know is how can I do this?

Thanks in advance.

Include the corners of the sail in your pinning group (possibly with a lower weight, depending on how rigid you want the attachment to the rope to be); at each corner add a hook to a new empty; and vertex parent each of those empties to the appropriate rope end. The sail corners will now be dragged by the rope ends.

Next do the same thing the other way round: at the end of each rope add a hook to a new empty, and vertex parent those to the sail corners. The rope ends will now be pulled by the sail corners.

I got this to work OK using cloth for the ropes as well as for the sail. I’d rather have the ropes as soft bodies, but I couldn’t get softbody ropes to follow the sail corners as cleanly. That may just be because I’m much more familiar with the cloth settings than with the softbody ones.

Best wishes,
Matthew

Hi Mathew,

I have tried to follow your instructions but I end up with the following:
http://amalgamate.firoweb.com/download/file.php?id=37
Any suggestions?

Thanks

It looks like one end of the rope is floating free. Both ends need to be pinned (if cloth) or be in the goal group (if softbody): one at a fixed point, the other hooked to the sail.

Best wishes,
Matthew

It looks to me like the hooks stay in the original place and do not move with the rope end and sail corner.
I have tried adding greater weight paint to the points but then I get almost no movement at all… Should I be painting the rope at a different weight to that of the sail?

Have you:

• done the vertex parenting of each empty to the mesh it’s not hooking?