Rotation keyframe mess it up

Hello,

I’m new to blender and so far enjoying exploring it by myself. But there’re so many things i still don’t know, here’s my problem of the week : I modeled a sphere opening on the EDIT : top. when it open up a platform lift from the inside. On this platform there’s a bunch of object that i grouped together (with the platform btw). I decided later that i wanted this group to rotate on the Z axis while lifting. So i tried to add rotating keyframes to the group but all objects from the group flew all over the grid. I’m sure it’s a commun issue that newcomer go through but i got no idea how to get out of it. Sorry i can’t upload a blend as i’m new here, i’m sure it would be easier to get my problem. Thanks anyway for reading me and thanks again for an tips :slight_smile:
cheers

Upload your file here:

Then post the link to it for us to look at. Without your blend file it is near impossible to suggest a fix. Always try to post a blend file showing the problem, not the whole original file, or at the least images of what’s going on.

Cheers, Clock. :beers:

I didn’t know that !! Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

http://pasteall.org/blend/index.php?id=50508

OK first observation, you have quite a complex model there, when it comes to rigging the “gongs” that will be struck by the pins on your cylinder. So I would go back a few stages and start using an Armature and some Transforms Constraints on the bones. You can have one bone per opening segment of the sphere, these can have transform constraints so that each one turns a set amount dependant on the rotation of one activating bone - all the animation is then just moving the action bone. On bone can lift and rotate the entire deck, with all the non rotating object parented to it. Then add separate bones for each of the other moving parts on your “lift”.

Give me a little time and I’ll post you an example of what I mean.

EDIT:

Merde! So many typos in this post first time, I must need beer…