"same" material different normals (bumpmap)

Hoppla folks!
I am a noob with blender and blah blah…
Let’s say I’ve got two objects, cube1 and cube2. I want them to look like they have the same material, let’s say aluminium. For cube2 I want to add a extra normal (bump map) for some sort of markings, I do so by adding a texture.

Assigning the same material is not exactly the problem here, I can for example copy the material from cube1 to cube2 by using the arrows under material. The problem is rather when I want to change a bit of how the material look I need to recopy again. Copying material from cube1 to cube2 again “overwrites” the normal texture and I have to set up the texture again. :frowning:

Assigning both cubes to the same material won’t work either, then I would get the same texture on both cubes. :frowning:

How do I set up the materials to achieve what I want.

bytheway; here’s a glimpse on what I’m working on.
http://redraven.info/uploads/images/3D/can_009_small.jpg

The simplest solution would be to assign material a fake user. Typically, if a material is not being used, it will be deleted when you quit Blender. Assigning a fake user will keep the material in the blend file when you exit.

So: Cube 1/Material 1 - Cube 2/Material 2

1. Assign material 2 to a fake user - the F icon in the Links and Pipeline panel next to the material name.
  2. Assign the new tweaked material 1 to cube 2
  3. Click on “Add New” in the Links and Pipeline panel - thus creating a new material based on the tweaked material.
  4. Clear the textures of this new material
  5. Copy the textures and mapping (Up and Down Arrow in Texture Panel) of material 2 to the new material.

Another way would be to use material nodes (1 2 3 4). Using nodes would allow you to tweak base materials without having any effect on textures.

Best of Luck!

If I understand correctly, you should do this:
Make your material without the bump map and assign it to both objects.