Script to find touching objects

Hi
I need a script which can tell me the names of objects which are in close proximity to a particular object I have selected. What would be the best way to write such a script?
Thanks
Ishan

Iterate through all objects and calculate the distance between each one and the selected object.

How good is your scripting? Make a start on it and I’ll help you in this thread if you get stuck.

Thanks for the reply. How do I calculate the distance b/w 2 objects? Is that distance b/w the objects’ centers or something else? I am new to scripting in Blender, so I don’t know much about it.
Thanks
Ishan

You can find the distance between two centres (this is the easiest and quickest way).

This is going to be the magnitude (length) of the vector between the two centres.

Have you done any programming before? Anything in python?

By center of object I take it you mean the loc property of the object. If I get the vector distance from the centers, how do I then get the objects which touch a selected object? For a spherical object, I can get this through the sum of the radii of the 2 objects, but what do I do in the case of non-spherical objects?
I have done Java, a bit of C and Python outside of Blender.

If you want to to figure out if a mesh of given object is inside another object (ie. “touches” it), you can use ray casting. One pretty standard way to check if a vertex of mesh object is inside another is to cast a ray. This is guaranteed to work only if you are dealing with a manifold object. Manifold means that you can explicitly state which is the outside and which is the inside of an object.