Sculpting tool doesn't work - modifier has been applied

I am totally new to the world of 3D modeling. I am working thru the Andrew Price videos and have watched the first 5 beginner tutorials (making the donut) multiple times more than 5. I follow along and everything seems to work fine till I get to sculpting. I duplicated the donut/icing and put in archive. I selected the donut and applied the modifier (subdivision surface). I set the Radius/strength to exact same thing he has, but when I go to draw with the brush, it just ‘whites out’ the area. It does not visibly change the shape in any way. I can tell the software has changed since the version he uses in the video, so is there something I am missing?

Double check that you are in sculpt-mode (and not vertex-paint or something else):

…and if so, ensure you are using the correct tool (make sure it is Draw and not paint-mask or something like that). Press t to toggle the tool-shelf if you can’t see it.

Save often and don’t be afraid to experiment.

Good luck.

See screenshots below. I am in sculpt mode with ‘SculptDraw’. I have been saving after each video, so last save was before modifier was applied (also archived it like video instructs). The second screenshot shows what it looks like if I try to draw/sculpt on donut.

Thanks for your help.
Beverly

PS… will try to send second screenshot under separate cover as it said as a new user I could only include one image.

Here is the second screenshot.

Beverly

Try hiding the donut and check that your icing doesn’t have a duplicate of the donut joined to it. If it does, go into edit-mode and use l to link-select that and delete it.

Good luck.