Seeking help understanding bone "roll"

Could someone please explain to me - as I am still a noob when it comes to rigging - why bones have roll even when it appears they are not rolled?

What I mean is - see the active bone on the right in this screen shot…
I recalculated the roll, expecting that would set the roll to zero.
Now it has a roll of 168.51 degrees, yet from the octahedral bone shape we can see the bone does not appear to be rolled about its longitudinal axis. Instead it appears parallel to the grid.
Also, if I move the tip the roll value changes, even though the bone remains parallel.
Clearly I don’t understand what “roll” actually is.

For those who understand the concept of roll, what was it that made you “get it”? Please share.

The Short Answer:

It is all down to how you constructed the bone in the first place!

Take these two bones, viewed in Top and Front views:

The one on the left was placed in the front view, then the head was moved over to the right, then moved backwards in the top view, its bone roll is 59.04 degrees, although it appears to be in line with the grid.

The one on the right was placed the same in the front view, it’s head was moved to the right, then rotated in the top view, its bone roll is 0 degrees yet it appears the same as the left bone.

Two things to bear in mind; If you want the bone roll to be 0 in the case of a bone like this, place it and rotate it rather than move the head in two planes. Alternatively, don’t worry about the bone roll if you have moved the head in two planes. Don’t forget that you can always “normalise” bones, by keying CTRL+N and selecting an orientation mode, this will not set the left bone’s roll back to 0 however, since it cannot have its axes anything other than at 90 degrees to each other. If you normalise the left bone to Global X axis, its roll changes to -15.61, but it does not move or rotate.