Selecting vertices without selecting edges between them

I am new to Blender. I wonder how can I select vertices without selecting edges between them.
Ok, I know that it is possible to manually deselect edges, but this is annoying. Is there a way to turn off this behaviour? …and I am asking the same for selecting edges of a poly without selecting poly itself.

You must be holding down Ctrl to select multiple vertices. Use Shift instead to select only what you are clicking.

I know how to select multiple vertices. The queston is how to select vertices but not edges connecting them.

You need to get used to Blender to appreciate it, other programs make a clear distinctions between verts and edges. Blender does not do it for a lot of reasons.

If your vertex selection completes an edge, it will highlight the edge, if it completes a face, Blender will also highlight the face, which works for edges to polygons fashion too.

There might be a way to dim or disable the edge highlighting however I suspect that will also affect the actual edge selections as well.

Hm… Interesting. I think it is a design failure not to clearly distinguish sub-object types, it can lead to chaos. For example extruding a vertex creates an “orphan” edge, but extruding an edge creates a polygon. I am coming from 3DS Max, so these ambigous sub-objects in Blender make me sick.

1 Like

Blender allows you to select vertices without selecting edges/faces but only from a python level using bmesh… the default behavior of the blender selection box is to also select edges and faces if the selection forms edge(s) or face(s).

It did take me a while to get used to this as well, and I’m not 100% sure if this is good or bad. It’s certainly confusing, but I haven’t found an instance where it was extremely limited. Maybe my experience here is limited.

2 Likes