Seurat Capture - An addon to make the creation of mobile VR environments a lot easier

I made an addon that can capture and process data for Google Seurat, which is a great tool to optimize very heavy scenes with realistic materials for mobile VR. It generates a 3D model which looks just like the real scene, as long as you stay within the predefined ‘box’. You could compare the process to photogrammetry with known camera positions and depth values.

I’m still relatively new to coding and creating addons, so any kind of feedback is heavily appreciated. The source code is available here:

6 Likes

aaaaa
Blender 3.0
Using “seurat_capture_addon-1.1.3.zip”

It looks like you’ve downloaded the addon from Github, but that’s my bad. I forgot to include the actual Gumroad download link back when I made this post. Downloading it on Gumroad should fix it.

I will try it tomorrow, about to sleep now…wonder if it works for Godot game engine which is the engine I used along with the Blender Game Engine.

That should work just fine, there’s actually a Seurat plugin for Godot too, which helped me a lot to create this one for Blender. Here’s some info about importing the mesh into Godot. Let me know if you run into any issues.

Strange as it might seem, I am exploring this technology from the perspective of asset thieve prevention.

As a 3D modeller who model from scratch & am planning to put out VR contents in a limited form, I have witnessed how 3D models are straight out being ripped shamelessly in various social VR platforms in broad daylight.

With this technology, the “original asset” with its topology model and … well basically the whole structural integrity of the model is ruined but the visuals stays intact !

That’s a very interesting usecase, it’d definitely work well for that. It sucks that a lot of asset theft is going on though.