Shader engine

Hey, i’ve never really been satisfied with GLSL, so i’ve decided to set out to make my own shaders and incorporate them into the BGE.
Now i know this will be a tedious task and will take a very long time, and no matter what language i use i will need to learn openGL, but what language would probably be the best way to make shaders?
(would it be possible to use PYTHON since i know it better than any other language?)

I have never code GLSL, but to my understanding GLSL stands for openGL shading language. So I’m guessing when you code a shader you code it in GLSL. I have had a look at some example shaders and it seems you can incorporate GLSL in python.

Like I said before, I’ve never coded a shader before so I may be way off here.

All the shaders I’ve ever used in the BGE have been written in python. Theres a few custom ones out there, all in python. Id start by downloading a bunch and checking out how they work.
Perhaps ask Martinish how to go about learning it? Hes very recently learnt how to make shaders and is amazingly good at it. Have you seen his shaders? I think he uses python.

If he could post here about some tips to start writing shaders that would be great, I’m looking to try it out sometime as well.

edit Hmmm, i may have misinterpreted what your saying, are you talking about 2D shaders in the BGE or something completely different? More details?

yup… all the shaders are written in GLSL… not python, the GLSL code is run/called by python… so the code snippets for the vertex shaders and fragment shaders are called by python… as in, they are all in one text file… so it’s a mix of python and GLSL. You can only code shaders in GLSL in the blender game engine… unless someone writes in support for other shading languages… but other languages are even lower level and more complex to figure out than GLSL.