Sharpen Video in VSE (or other way in Blender?)

I’m doing a Star Wars fan documentary entirely with Blender, Gimp, and Inkscape. I’m doing it in HD, but I’m integrating a few snippets from low-res deleted scenes. I would like them to be smoothly mixed in, so it’s not so noticeable the source is different.

I cannot find any sharpening algorithms in the VSE (or through add-ons). Does anybody know how this could be achieved in Blender? Thanks as always.

Nodes > filter > sharpen.

There is a new script that will send a VSE strip to a node scene and place it on the timeline as a scene strip. Not real time but you can render it first or as a proxy.

The script is at the bottom of my latest blog posting.

Thanks, 3PointEdit. (I’ve never used Nodes before, but at this stage in my learning of Blender, I’m seeing them referenced all the time, so I guess I’ve gotta bite the bullet and devote some time to that.)

Thank you also for your fine blog - though it’s often a bit too technical for my current knowledge. Just a few days ago, I downloaded the “Jump to” add-on for the VSE, and I expect it will be a good time-saver. I come across it regularly on my StartPage searches.

I will update this thread with step-by-step instructions and a “Solved” tag when I complete this.

On the PC side of things, Virtual Dub is a nice video utility that has a number of useful filters including sharpening. It’s free & Open Source, works with .avi files, recognizes most common codecs you may have on board, and plays very well with XviD, fwiw.

Thanks, chipmasque. I’m looking into it now.

VirtualDub looks cool - lean and full of functions, but it seems pretty darn limited in its codecs. I just randomly tried about eight different videos I have, and it only accepted one of them. But I’ll keep it in mind for future use, and let people know of it when the subject arises. Thanks a lot.