Shooting HDRIs for Blender

Hello,

I’m a landscape photographer and recently became interested in compositing CG into still photography images. My first project deals with automotive rendering. I quickly realized that using equirectangular HDR images shot at the same time as the backplates is the way to go, and so I wrote an article detailing the shooting process and how it applies specifically to Blender. I’m posting it in here in the hope that it is useful to other people. If anything is unclear or wrong please don’t hesitate to leave a comment and I will look into it.

The article can be found here: http://www.salokin.com/articles/image-based-lighting

Nice article. If you’re just playing around and don’t need super high quality, you can use a Christmas ornament. It cuts down on the amount of stitching. I got the box of 4 at Walmart. Before Christmas they were $6. I waited until just after Christmas and they were $1.50.

Here’s a shot I did in my basement.

Steve S

That would be the HDRI Probe method. It’s interesting because with only 2 frames you’re able to capture a complete spherical panorama, however the resolution is limited as you mentioned. Your render looks quite good, so maybe I’m over thinking this! The stitching part is quite easy though in my experience, it’s the capture that requires a bit more thinking and practice (and expensive gear!).

I have played around with making my own HDRI. It’s not easy. The shooting is the hard part. My widest lens is only 18mm, so it takes me a lot of shooting to get a 360 image. But if you overshoot as I do with about 50 images per HDRI the software is pretty damn good at stitching them together. But it is kinda slow when its trying to work with 50 13MB images. I might make a cheap rig for doing this tomorrow and post it. Might take me more than one day to make. We’ll see.