simple unit calculation? anyone know?

i’ve been using blender for about 2 yrs now and just barely thought i’d dig into more precision modeling. hence the following questions.

is there a simple way of calculating units/inches/??

i use both blender3d and sketchup.

both are awesome programs. currently i’m working on an arcade joystick. modeling the buttons is extremely easy in blender. however, when it comes to the measurements is when it becomes bad.

button.
http://www.happcontrols.com/images/60/601200xxmd.gif

for instance, the diameter of one of the buttons is 1.06inches. i understand that blender uses an arbitrary unit system. so i tried using this system to create my buttons. this is the bevel part.
sizex 1.0600
sizey 1.0600

the button top is 0.78 and when entered into blender there is a HUGE gap. (once the arc is made)
in sketcup the gap is tiny (once the gap is made.)

i exported it as .3ds and the mesh in sketchup reads as 3" diameter

in sketchup i can make the button as 1.06", but once exported and imported into blender, the imported mesh reads as 1.0

anyway to correctly translate dimensions between the two? (i’m not knocking the way blender dimensions are done, i think it’s a simple way to measure.) is there maybe something i’m not understanding about the unit system?

my second question, why does blender calculate a circle outside a square of the same dimension?

blender. square and circle at location 0,0,0 both with a size of 1.0,1.0,1.0
http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/9269/outside3gr.th.jpg

sketchup.square and circle at location 0,0,0 both with a size of 1.0,1.0,1.0
http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/2249/inside3zg.th.jpg[/img]

actually, you’ve got it wrong

the numeric input panel in object mode doesn’t show the SIZE of the object in units, it shows the scaling of the object [as a multiple]…