Simulation Node particle system gravity will not fall when tied to an Empty

I was following this tutorial on YouTube on how to do a particle simulation via Simulation Nodes. All goes well until I try and make the “gravity” effect of the particle system, because the whole thing falls apart when I tie the Scale values of the two Scale nodes to an empty that moves upwards, it does not have any gravity effect whatsoever, it’s just flat movement along the X axis, which is OK for a snail, but not for your average particle system.

Can anyone please help me, for I’m a bit stuck, and I am extremely new to Simulation Nodes. It excites me a lot because I can picture the fun I am about to have creating the particle systems that I can come up with using this if I can master it. Like fire, rain, snow, etc. I hope Blender adds more simulation options in the near future for easier control over simulations like this, and proper dedicated particle nodes.

Can anyone please find any text-based tutorials on how I can work this Simulation/Geometry node stuff out? All I find are video tutorials, but there must be some text-based tutorials. I can do Shader nodes because they are visual and much easier to learn, but Geometry and Simulation nodes are a lot harder. But I feel that mastering them will be very rewarding in the end.

Is there an easier way to make a Simulation Node-based particle system have gravity with an object like an Empty? You just move the Empty to make the gravity, like in the video where you just use Delta Time to do the same thing, it should be achievable with Object Location on the Z axis.

You’re replacing the Delta Time with an Empty moving upward? Not sure what you expect to happen? Please explain what you’re trying to achieve.

Not really… your best bet is to look at the sample files.

From your description I’m not sure what you expect the Empty to represent.