Sintel Movie Color-grading

Inspired by another similar post a while back, I started playing around with color grading the latest batch of test renders from Sintel. What do you guys think?

[http://blog.mikepan.com/wp-content/uploads/05.1b_comp_000156-2.jpg
http://blog.mikepan.com/wp-content/uploads/05.1b_comp_000156.jpg

http://blog.mikepan.com/wp-content/uploads/03.1a_comp_000083-2.jpg
http://blog.mikepan.com/wp-content/uploads/03.1a_comp_000083.jpg

http://blog.mikepan.com/wp-content/uploads/01a_comp_000197-2.jpg
http://blog.mikepan.com/wp-content/uploads/01a_comp_000197.jpg](http://blog.mikepan.com/sintel-movie-coloring-test/)

color grading

that’s exactly what is missing from sintel’s renders.
i hope they’ll have a nice color grading in the end giving it a filmic look.

First pic:
The original has a kind of BBC feel to it. Brownish and low on contrast. Your color grading reminds me of the orange-teal color grading of nowadays, but just about the right amount to separate the skin tones from the background.

Second pic:
The main concern with this shot is that Sintel looks out of place, as if she standing in front of a matte painting. That said the original is better because my eyes are drawn to Sintel/ the action, whereas in your version everything is evenly bright (which is not bad per se because it looks like a accurate a sunset) and find myself starring at the end of the street.

3rd pic
I like the original version more because it looks sad, misty, desolate and hollow. Your version is a happy Happy Feet-sunshine after the snowstorm - version which I think is not appropriate for Sintel.

The one who said on the last color-grading thread about blizzard conditions being grey and dull is absolutely right, around 2 years ago December we had a heavy snowstorm in the middle of the day and everything outside looked greyish and low-contrast, there wasn’t a higher contrast outside until the snow stopped.