Solar incidence on an area

Helllo, I have a question, I wasn’t sure if this was the right forum for it so posted this request on Blendercommunity, they said I shoud post here.

I am an architect with very little experience with Blender. I have been trying to rectify this over the last month as it seems a broad, very competent and customisable program. I have the aim of creating simple workflow models as well as more realistic renders. One of the workflow models I have been working on uses the Sun Position add-on to generate accurate shadow studies.

Yesterday with ChatGPT i investigated scripts and we developed and it wrote one (I have no scripting experience) connected to the sun position that modified the intensity and colour of the sun based on the time of day. It seems to work, I don’t know how accurate it is.

Today I have been trying to develop one that I find very useful and is the topic of this post. There used to be an independent add-on to Sketchup that reported the ammount of sun on a surface based on hours per m2, and rendered an image of that information on the model: so different colours would indicate how many hours of sun a particular area recieved. This was very useful as a sketch indication for landscape planting or position of solar panels etc.

It seems that the script ChatGPT wrote for this will not fetch data from Sun Position add-on. Later it could be developed using epw weather data or solar radiation recieved but now it was just a simple calculation if sun had reached an area for a certain period of time. Can I share these with people on the forum so it can be corrected? Thanks!

Thanks, yes I know it doesn’t sound great but I wanted to make my ignorance completely known! It was a proposal for something simple I found useful and I think others could to. People say learning scripting is easy but I don’t really believe them, which is why I’m here! What do you propose I do?