[SOLVED] RIGIFY 2 missing eye corners error and incorrect armature for type skin_eye

I imported a model from daz to blender and I was working on it, however when I generate rig, even though I did everything correctly and there should be a problem I get the following error:
RIGIFY ERROR: Bone ‘eye.L’: Expected 2 eye corners, but found 1
Incorrect armature for type ‘skin_eye’
Can anyone tell me why and/or how to fix it? I am new to rigging so I do not understand what “incorrect armature for type skin_eye” means or “Expected 2 eye corners” because since when do eyes have corners??
SOLVED EDIT: It is a bit embarassing but apparently when it told me that “eye.L expected 2 eye corners” I thought it meant like there is some problem with the mesh and how the armature interacted with it, but apparently it means that the bunch of eye bones were disconnected. I totally missed that, my bad. Im keeping this up though in case anyone ever gets this error again

Make sure that the head and tail of the bones going into the outer corners of the eye are in the exact same place:

If the end of the upper eyelid bone has been moved away from the end of the lower eyelid bone, you will get that error message.

You can drag-select over the join to select the ends of both bones. Then Shift-S and pick Cursor to Selected. Then Shift-S again, and pick Selection to Cursor. That will put the two ends in the same place.

1 Like

Thank you so much magpie! I had already found the problem while trying to fix something else with the eyes :sob: :sob:You are right though that was the solution to my problem. Thanks a lot!!

1 Like

Funny enough, I only recently uploaded a video that was made just for this type of post (it’s more common then you think).

Anyway, on the odd chance you or some future readers happen to hit the other few common problems, here’s the video that may save a lot of pain and questions later down the track.