[solved] "unpack"? streamed data bit by bit

Hi everybody,

I got a little problem reading some streaming data I recieve via socket. It is about a motion capture system, giving me position and orientation of a tracked body.
The developer of the system published a C++ sample client, that recieves the streamed data from the tracking-application. I had a look at it and tried to “convert” it into python.
At this point, I have to admint, that I am not really a programmer! I don’t know much about Python, and even less about C++. So I am not always sure what I am doing here :eyebrowlift2:

I managed to recieve the data blocks, but they look really messed up.
Nothing special so far:

import socket
import struct

ip = "127.0.0.1"
port = 1511
multicastAdd = "239.255.42.99"

mreq = struct.pack('4sl', socket.inet_aton(multicastAdd), socket.INADDR_ANY)
s = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET, socket.SOCK_DGRAM)
s.setsockopt(socket.SOL_SOCKET, socket.SO_REUSEADDR, 1)
s.bind((ip,port))
s.setsockopt(socket.IPPROTO_IP, socket.IP_ADD_MEMBERSHIP, mreq)
data, addr = s.recvfrom(10240)
print data

But here you can see how the data looks in the C++ sample (only the values are from the data paket, the text is generated by the client), and what I get with python:
http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/4614/datastream.jpg

For me, it looks kind of encoded. I had a look at the C++ sample, and could not find any hint of “formant convertion” (e.g. host to network). But finally I found an “unpack” function which seems to read the data bit by bit(?). I am not sure how that pointer and reference stuff in C++ is working, and I also have no idea how to convert that to python. I would be really happy, if someone could help me out with this.
Here is a short sample from the unpack function:

void Unpack(char* pData)
{
    char *ptr = pData;
    printf("Begin Packet
-------
");
    // message ID
    int MessageID = 0;
    memcpy(&MessageID, ptr, 2); ptr += 2;
    printf("Message ID : %d
", MessageID);
    // size