Some kind of 2008 new year's image... WIP

Well, I decided first to take a picture of my idea, “in real life”, but it didn’t work well.
So I went on Blender.
The idea is shown below :
Draft Image
I started modelling the walls and floor and the socket, and put the lightning on. And AO too.
Image1
then I did the cable.
Image2 and Image3
And the lamp.
Image4
I took pictures of the walls and floor of my living room and I UVed them on the model.
Image5
and here I am actually :
Image6
What do you think of it ? Any suggestions ?

In the last pic my eyes immediately went to where the socket is, To me it looks like the socket is coming out of the wall on an angle. Maybe its the shadows. Then again, Im a total newb at this program, so what do I know? LOL

Yeah I see what you mean. I didn’t noticed it, it is surely because of the wide-angle camera used (i’m using a 22mm “lens” in this last picture).
thank you, i’ll try to fix it by going toward the 35mm and changing point of view =)

Personally, I think the cord is sticking out really far out of the wall before it drops, but maybe the electric cords in Missouri are just lazy. It might just be the angle of the light that makes the shadow look like it has a lot of depth. And, did you want the light coming out of the back of your lamp? If you keep that, you should do a light halo out the back and put it at an angle to where you get both splashes of light, unless you were going to add something that the light was illuminating?

Just wondering, how’d you do the cord?

Nice, makes me want to do a few more mainstream (practical) pieces.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ((9)) 10

Iconoclast> You’re right about the cable, it comes too far out of the wall. I’ll try to fix it too. For the lamp I’ll try something =)
I made the cable with two bezier circles bevelled on a path (waaaay much easier to control for cable modelling than a bezier curve, imo)
And I just checked, in france too electric cables are lazy =p

Hundred> thanks =)