Some Possibly Complex Questions

Okay, so I’m working on building this game. It’s a racing game with golf carts (yeah, I know - it’s for my organization as kind of an in-office thing). I have it planned, and most of the models and such.

Basically, I want to do sort of a Mario Kart type game, with power-ups and the like.

Well, here’s my list of questions. I would appreciate any help. I really want to break ground learning the game engine. I’ve been modeling and animating for nearly 6 years, and I’m ready to learn a bit more.

I have a golf cart model. I can make it move. I have an item that when run over is supposed to trigger a spin on a the “power-up wheel”. Well, getting the cart to run over the object is no problem. I can even use an overlay scene to make the power-up spins appear once the object is run over. But here’s what I’d like to know.

1. I need the power-up spins to be random. I did make all the animations in advance (assuming I needed them), and I have stills of the power-ups once the wheel stops. But is there a way to trigger it to be random. We’re basically talking about eight wedges on the wheel which represent the individual power-ups. I need it to go like this: when I run over the item, it will trigger one of the eight animations I’ve prepared to appear in the overlay scene (unless there’s a better way to do this - I’m open to suggestions). Once the animation is found,

2. I then need a particular still to replace the spinning wheel in the overlay scene. (The still image will need to correspond with whatever power-up animation is played.) I don’t mind using more overlay scenes. I just don’t know how to make it flow like this.