Sounds triggered by collision

Hi everyone

As the title says im looking for a way to trigger sound files by a collision.
I recently made a test animation of a few glowing balls falling down stairs. Now i wanted to put some sound on it and came up with the thought "why matching all up manually when maybe blender (or a script but im new to phyton) could do the work much faster and more precise then i could ever do.
Now my question is, is there such a function/script already there or where do i find decent tuts and docs to maybe write my own script (if possible at al)

thanks in advance
BK

http://blendit.xaa.pl/?p=middrv&l=eng
Its a script for blender 2.49 but it might give you an idea

So how are you going to render your sound?
I don’t think Blender does that, even Cinema 4D can not do this.

Usually it is the other way around as in that MIDI script. You animate to sound. Just like when doing lip sync, the sound comes first.

If it were me in your case, I’d just edit the sound in a NLE to the animation if I had that already done. Can’t be that hard or tedious.

Can’t be that hard or tedious.
It can be hard and tedious if lots of objects are involved and you want different sounds for different surfaces. Say the objects make a “bloop” sound when they hit the red object and a “blip” sound when they hit the blue objects.

That is why I mentioned “How are you going to render it?” Even if you make a python script that calculates when the sounds are to be played, I am not aware of any mechanism that can actually play a sound to a rendered file. Perhaps the game engine can render a WAVE file output?

@Atom
admittedly I don’t know of it being done already. But I don’t think its impossible. If you write a script to drive the animation you can use a corresponding script to drive a synthe.