Space switching in Blender?

I’m a fairly experienced 3D artist who recently switched over to Blender. Trying to wrap my head around the transition. One question is if anyone knows a simpler way to handle space-switching in blender rigs.

Not sure blender uses the same label, but in Maya it’s very easy to switch the coordinate space of a piece of the rig, between world, character, or some parent space—say for instance your character is interacting with a prop, you’d want to switch between a free hand and a hand that was tied to the prop.

You can certainly do this with a few nulls and child to constraints, but if you have to switch between multiple spaces in a single shot, it’s cumbersome. Does anyone know of a better way?

This is an example of an add-on for Maya:

Did you find any useful Blender space switching resources?

Not really. I haven’t found any add-ons or tools that make it as easy as it is in some programs. I think I did read that the updated rigify that comes with 2.82 now has some better space switching tools, but since the rigs I’m currently working with were built in 2.80 I haven’t really had time to look into it.

Basically I use a process similar to this:

However, unlike what’s in that video, in general I found it more reliable to not constrain the actual geo and/or bones. What I generally do is create a empty (null) constrained to each object and then parent or constrain those depending on what I need to do.

So, for instance, if I have a character pick up a cane and start walking, I’d create a null and constrain it to the cane handle and another null constrained to the hand bone, then I’d animate two separate “child of” constraints to change which was the parent and which was the child.

Let me know what you’re trying to do and I can help. And if you’re doing a character, I would look at the new rigify and see if their new tools help at all.