Spots on skin texture with high particle count on loincloth

Hi folks.

I usually try to sort my way through my own issues, as I find I learn better that way, but this one has really got me stumped…

I’m a bit of a noob and this is the first project that I’ve attempted that hasn’t started with a tutorial or anything. The WIP thread is here:
http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=112551

The problem that I’m having is spotting on the stomach of my little green man when I increase the number of hairs on his loincloth.

30000 particles and many spots on his stomach:

http://images.munkypix.com/2321/l_95e5155706179a01c6a86ee82d7175e7.jpg

15000 particles and a few spots on his stomach:

http://images.munkypix.com/2321/l_b093a09ffe4d04e8c6df33c5c497f09e.jpg

10000 particles and no spots on his stomach:

http://images.munkypix.com/2321/l_1df5530f42a8b1187e3c943e542db686.jpg

A simple solution would be to have less particles, but I think the quality of the fur on the loincloth is far worse with only 10000 particles as opposed to the 30000 particles that gives the lush effect that I wanted.

The skin has SSS, and as the SSS layer renders, there is a bit of spotting shown. Not sure if this is normal.

Edit: The loincloth is on a separate layer to the main model to allow for easy editing and removal for resolving any issues that may arise (such as this). Not sure if this is relevant, but decided to include it just in case.

I was wondering if anyone knows what is causing the spotting on his stomach and if there is a possible workaround that I could do, or if there is a simple mistake that I have made… I have been using Blender for a little less than a month now so am still very much a beginner at this.

Thanks for reading.