Spring armature

Hello everyone and happy holidays and a happy new year

I found this tutorial
https://blender.stackexchange.com/questions/148794/can-anyone-help-me-rig-a-watch-escapement

where you see an animated spiral spring.
I’m studying it to understand how to do the animation.

I managed to make the mesh of the spring and color it with the gradient,of the weight paint, then I match the mesh with the armor, but I do something wrong and I can’t make the spring rotate. I send my file

spiral.blend (827.7 KB)

how i can animate the spring?

For a mistake i copied the file of tutorial, my file with problem is this

SPRING-PROBLEM.blend (1.5 MB)

Took a look at your file and the Stack Exchange article. (you can edit your posts here, you should probably edit your first post to remove the wrong file to avoid confusion on which file to look at)

So Stack Exchange says:

The first bone has 100% influence on the spring.

The second one, its child and which is rotating, has a gradient influence on it.

To make this gradient, start with a simple plane and set the weight to 1 for a side (interior side), and to 0 for the second side (exterior side).

Once done, stretch it and loop cut it.

Which you did do, I see the gradient weight on the spring. That weight is a vertex group called ‘molla’, your top most bone that should rotate was named something else. Rename the top bone to ‘molla’ and it will work. Bone names have to match vertex group names.

That will only partially fix your problem. Try that fix and the outside of the spring doesn’t work right.

From Stack Ex -

The first bone has 100% influence on the spring.

So you need a vertex group named ‘padre’ that has 100% weight.

Hope this helps,
Randy

Randy, tankyou very much for help,
and happy holidays and happy new yera

now i can animate the spring,
but i have problem with the weight of bone,
how do you attribute 100% to bone molla and 0% to bone padre?

attached my file blend

molla-animata-bilancere.blend (1.0 MB)