Square holes keep rounding after adding subsurf

I’ve tried getting these holes to stay square with the best of my abilities, especially using what references I can find online in this case, but none of it seems to work. It just causes the same curves to get worse, or stay the same. The two examples in the picture are the best results I’ve had, and both resulted in equally bad outcomes.

Does anyone have any clue how I can work around this? I’m still fairly new with using subsurf, but I’ve been able to mostly get the hang of what works with it, and what doesn’t by winging it with the exception of square cuts like this.

You can set subsurf to simple, but normally you will use bevel, so you have an extra vertex on all sides. The distance then determines the sharpness of the edge.

have you tryed to mark the edges sharp?
another way is loop cuts.but mark the edges sharp is easyer,because with loopcuts you have to deal with more mesh.

a recent question that might help: Modeling plugs on phone

@MarioPeper
When I set it to simple it just defaults to the mesh’s shape with no additional smoothing for some reason, so that’s out of the question for me, unfortunately. I’ve also done quite a lot of vertex additions just to see if it would help, and nothing seems to square this up at the corners.

@pixelgrip
I’ve tried marking sharp, as well as markind sharp with no difference. Even assing a metric ton of cuts doesn’t do anything to square out the edges. Everything behind those rounded corners are square, but the very surface won’t remove those rounded corners.

@moonboots
I feel like one of the methods I’ve used is almost exactly like the modem cuts, but for some reason it still doesn’t help. The most anything I’ve done has resulted in is the unwanted curves being smoother.

almost exactly is not exactly :wink: maybe share your file so that we can give a try