Starborne Newbie Game Project

Wow. That’s rather unimpressive.

Words wall…
Well. I had a thread about this in the general help area, but everyone stopped replying a while back and now it’s buried. Anyway, I’m a noob trying to make a sci-fi FPS/space combat sim. So far I haven’t really started anything that will probably end up in the actual game, but I’m doing tests. This project started out last fall, then gradually got bigger and bigger until I was forced to start a new project that basically ended up as what the original one was going to be. So, basically, it was just one project. I have been working on making maps, but I’m still getting experience, so I doubt any of my current models will make it into the final game except the enemy fighter.

Concepts:
Gameplay over Graphics: I want to have massive battles at decent framerates, so I’m going to make everything as low-poly as possible. The fighter I mentioned has something like eighteen polys, and it actually looks quite good, even from up close.
Story: I’m fairly good at writing stories, so I’m making this one as good as I can to keep people interested. I have the basic plot down, at least the main points, but I’m not going to explain it here as there’s a massive plot twist at the end that I want to keep secret. I will, however, explain some of the starting points and the political situations.
Making weapons fire look good: I’ve noticed that in Battlefront II (one of my favorite games) the laser blast models are so short that they look like dotted lines when fired. I am making mine much longer so that they overlap and look like flowing liquid. In addition, the white line in the center of the colored glow will be perfectly straight and parallel so that it looks like a constant beam.
Scientific accuracy: Well, more like excuses for necessary errors. Yes, I have found a way to justify sound in space.