Static to Static collision detection. Any way to pull it off?

Silly question I know, but seeing as how static to static collision is a no show with bullet, I’m not left with all that many options but to ask.

First, just to clarify, I can’t use a ray sensor as an alternative, and there is no way that I can make any of the objects in question dynamic.

So… Is there a way? Maybe something through python, a way to register a static object as dynamic (just for the sake of collision) when it’s really not.

Your really into programming aren’t you? :slight_smile:
And I have no friggin idea how to do that!

Social is part of the elite here on the forums :slight_smile:

You can get a static to static with the near sensor if they are both set as actors. Actually, only the moving object needs to be an actor.

Near sensors hate being used, though. Like Radar, they tend to freeze often.

I’m a hobbyist.

socialsEgo += 1

Nah, that won’t work in my case, because I need the “contact area” to form a certain shape, and for that I need the mesh itself to act as a collision surface. (something I should have probably mentioned right off the bat, sorry)

Toomai>

Yea, I know. It’s funny how these bugs come to bite you when you least expect it.

…um wait for Erwin to fix it (time permitting) or write your own version of blender or hope it’s fixed in the next release??? We need more people to help develop the game engine side of blender… I have know idea how to get more people interested… competitions maybe? unfortunately i’m just a 3d Artist… :wink:

so you want collision detection for a static object? or am i reading that wrong :stuck_out_tongue:

I don’t know if you are reading it wrong, but you could be picking and choosing from what you want to read, instead of reading everything through.