Steve Jobs to sell Pixar?

Read.
http://money.cnn.com/2005/10/31/news/midcaps/pixar_disney/

I sure hope it doesn’t happen. Most (if not all) modern Disney films I’ve seen aren’t that great.

Or perhaps I’m misinterpreting this, I hope so.

The Toy Stories series was created by PIXAR in cooperation with Disney. Also, I don’t think much would change if Disney took over. After all, they don’t want to lose their viewers. PIXAR movies have been very popular, and if Disney’s management have their heads screwed on the right way, they’ll do everything to make it at least stay that way.

It doesn’t get any better than Pixar. Period. Honestly, I think they’d be better off without Disney. As the article stated, when the two companies were cooperating (they have since parted ways, from what I know) Disney was taking 50% of Pixar’s box office revenue simply for distributing their movies. I’m no expert, but I don’t think that’s quite fair.

I say if they can find someone else to market their products, they should do it. But who’s bigger than Disney? :expressionless:

No, they were just partially funded and then distributed by Disney. They had no part in the production.

I read (I forget where) that Pixar is going to release “Cars” through Disney yet and then they’re going to separate. Of course, if this article actually turns out to be true then Pixar will be releasing everything through Disney.

More news.
http://thedisneyblog.typepad.com/tdb/pixar/

I agree. I really hate it when big companies take loads of money for doing practically nothing and screwing over the little guy. It happens with actors too. But it’s hard to say how to value the appeal of a well known brand. Some people only buy a product if it has a certain name on it.