Stop help menu opening when left click in main window

I am new to Blender, using version 4.1.1 on MacBook Pro. Whenever I try to select, or do anything with left click, I get the Help menu popping up. Is there any way to disable this so that I can start editing?

Welcome :tada:

that’s usually not the way blender works
 there isn’t even any keyboard shortcut for help
 (except context help via F1
 but that’s not the menu )
 So could it be there went something wrong on the installation ??

(Lately there was some question about missing icons and wrong menu text
 i also wonder how this happend
)

At least on linux you can simple extract the archive and start the executable file without any installation
 you might
 i do not know the different possibilties on apple (like steam version on windows)
 expect x86 / Silicon Mx
 :person_shrugging:

On the first start-up in the splash screen, did you accidentally pick Right Click Select? Check here

Disable it in your preferences

Thanks for the response, but no, I already checked that.

Thank you for your responce, I was really hoping that this would be the answer, but it made no difference.

Hi Okidoki, I juat reinstalled Blender, but it’s still doing the same thing.

fsaas

Is a pop-up window like the image the problem? (because there is no detailed information)
This is a feature of blennder. You won’t be able to remove it.

If you specify that the left mouse click is used for general selection, the pop-up will move to the right.
※ Blender’s selection mouse setting will be on the right by default.
Just switch to the commonly used left click.

Well
 as i suggested
 i can’t imagine why blender would do such thing
 if not “corrupted” somehow

This might give some info: Docs-Blender Manual: command line arguments: debug 

A bit more info, this is how my Keymap preferences are set up

This is what happens when I click the LH mouse button