Strange gradient side effect with material

Hello, this is my first time posting. I’ve looked at the forums in the past for helpful tidbits and I thought it was about time I join the community, so I’ll begin by asking a question.

In one of my recent projects, I noticed a very strange effect that occurred in the background. It seems that my back wall, which was a basic Lambert shaded material, has been rendered with a strange gradient in color. It looks like a high-color image that has been saved to a very reduced format (as though 16 millions colors has been reduced to 256).

I don’t think I’ve ever noticed such a side effect in the past few years that I’ve been using blender and I wondered if anyone has an explanation or a way I might get around such a problem.

[image]

Thanks!

Kwid

Here’s the image.

Attachments

Is this grey area the wall, or am I looking at a flat wall with a band across it? If so, then double check that you have no textures loaded, and check for any lights that have textures in them, like a blend texture.

The gray area is just the wall - all other elements have been removed from the scene. I’m using the internal renderer and the material for the wall has no textures and no color band. The basic material settings are shown below.

Attachments

Do you mean the color banding?

If so, that is somehow a weird thing in Blender, as it seems. That topic comes up from time to time but I haven’t really seen a solution which works all the time yet. Maybe do a search for it on your own, with color banding as a keyword. Hope you find something and if so, please post your solution so that we may learn more about it.

(Increasing the dither slider was suggested sometimes but due to my own experiences, that doesn’t help at all…)

Simple, not enough grays. Use OpenEXR for very high-depth.

This happens when using Spot lamps set to Shadow Buffer with a too low number of samples.
Check if you have a spot lamp in the scene, and increase the number of samples.