Stuck on a tutorial, need help learning layers

Hello all, I’ve been using the self-taught method to learn blender. so far I finished a 16 lesson donut tutorial, and a ‘how to make a realistic 3D earth model’ tutorial from blenderguru’s youtube channel. But I got into blender because I want to create and animate CGI models of spaceships.

Anyway, I found this GREAT tutorial on how to use actual blue prints on the 1960’s era 1701 Enterprise starship. It’s a 46 lesson tutorial and I’ve been able to follow along despite me using version 3.2.2 and the tutorial featuring an older version of Blender.

However, I’m stuck at the 28:00 mark when he’s teaching me to use layers. Unfortunately, due to how different my version(3.2.2) is from his I haven’t been able to figure out how to follow the instructions.

Does anybody have any advice on how I can move forward? Do I need to search youtube for ‘layer tutorials’? I’ll figure it out, but I wanted to ask about it here.

Here’s the link to the tutorial I’m talking about:

1 Like

Layers is old system to organize scene objects - their visibility and such. Now it’s replaced by collection system, which is more flexible and advanced, but it’s more complex than old layers system. Shortcut he is talking about to move object to other layer (M) now moves object to another collection. You can create collection in outliner and organize them as you wish like folders in OS. You can duplicate or move collection inside other collections, you can restrict viewport and\or render visibilty or disable them by icons right to them. So collections is more advanced system to organize objects and their visibility in your scenes.

2 Likes

Welcome to BA :slight_smile:

Honestly speaking, you’re going to continue running into issues if you follow a tutorial made for 2.79 in 3.3. Blender was overhauled completely in 2.8, it’s no longer the same software it was in 2.79.