Sunset in the forest

Hi to everyone! It’s time to share results of intense work :slight_smile: When creating this environment I was drawing inspiration from the paintings of the Old masters as well as works of Kevin Hill.

73 Likes

7 Likes

You’re #featured! :tada:

2 Likes

Thank you! :slight_smile:

1 Like

The lighting is gorgeous! The warm colors really make it feel like a summer sunset. How did you model the trees and the grass? Is that hand made?

1 Like

Thank you! It’s flattering :slight_smile: For the trees I used Mtree blender add-on with adjustments, and as for grass I modeled separate strands by hand and then multiplued it with the particle system.

1 Like

Can you post a version without bloom?
I hate this effect.

I’m still new to Blender and learning so much. I hadn’t heard of the Mtree add-on, will definitely try that out! Thanks!

The painting like soft toning and coloring works really well for the picture. :+1:

It’s interesting that the image thumbnail looks like painting but viewed in full size it’s clearly a rendered image. Some post processing work could mask that if desired.

One minor thing which I noticed is that the line between water and ground looks dry and could be darkened and softened a bit.

1 Like

Thank you! Actually, I wasn’t trying to make it look like real painting, I was looking for the impression of warm sunny sunset, but it’s interesting idea :+1:

Concerning the transition between water and ground - I fully agree, it could be better. It’s my second work in 3d and there is a loooot to learn :slight_smile:

1 Like

I featured you on BlenderNation. Have a great weekend!

1 Like

Thank you!