Teeth modeling

Hi everybody !

I’m a dentistry student, and I’m currently working on my thesis, which consists in an educational software written in C++.
I need 3D teeth models so I can make some videos/animations/images, so I started to model 3D teeth :

And here comes my question : should I make a mesh shaped as enamel is in reality and another mesh shaped as dentin is (left solution on the drawing below), or should I model the global shape of the teeth, duplicate it, scale it down and put in inside of the other mesh (right solution), in order to create realistic shaders later on ? The first solution seems to be the best to me as it’s closer to reality, but isn’t it going to give me some problems with overlapping faces ?

great comment on this topic from blender stack exchange:

“Good results can be done with tooth geometries that consist of 2 surfaces: dentin (refraction 1,45) and enamel (refraction 1.7).”

Thank you for both your answer and link, I had already seen this thread, but as you can see in one of the comments :
“How the geometry have to look like ? A tooth and another one inside it right ?” which would be solution 2, but nobody answered him whether or not it was right :frowning:

Thank you for both your answer and link, I had already seen this thread, but as you can see in one of the comments :
“How the geometry have to look like ? A tooth and another one inside it right ?” which would be solution 2, but nobody answered him whether or not it was right :frowning:

looks interesting but

any nodes set up for this ?

thanks
happy bl

Thank you Modron for both your link and answer, I had already seen this forum thread, but as you can see in the comments somebody asked :
“Very interesting! How the geometry have to look like? A tooth and another one inside it right?” which would be the solution 2, but nobody answered him whether or it was the right thing to do :frowning: