Texture Imports For 3D printing

I’m a professional Industrial Designer. I’ve been trying for a few hours every night for the past week or two to figure out a workflow in Blender to texture parts for 3D printing that I’ve exported from CAD packages like Solidworks. I’ve become kind of obsessed with this problem. I found lots of people asking, and some companies that do it (but keep the secrets to themselves), but no complete answers, so I’ve joined the forum here to make a detailed post about what exactly I’m trying to do and see if the community here can help me solve it. I think the answer would be useful to a lot of people, and I’d be happy to make a tutorial about it once I nail it down.

I’m looking for 2 kinds of feedback:

• Am I doing the right thing? Input on my BIG PICTURE WORKFLOW.

• Am I doing the thing right? Input on using Blender efficiently. I’m new to it, and Blender is really feature-rich, so expect some really noobish ways of working. For me to use this professionally I need to cut it down to where Time Spent < The Value of Texture so this means I also need to get quick with my tools. I need help learning shortcuts.

Here’s the challenge:Displacement with a UV map is not crazy hard when you’ve created your file in Blender and have a clean mesh topology, but when it comes in as an STL from a nurbs based modeler, it’s pretty nuts to work with.

Here’s my BIG PICTURE WORKFLOW so far:

• Import stl from CAD package at a resolution suitable for my printing application. This is a very non-uniform triangular mesh. Bad for displacement maps.

• Remesh the areas where I want texture to be more uniform and very dense for high detail displacement mapping. I don’t want to remesh the whole thing because I’d need an absurd mesh density to maintain certain features I don’t want to alter, like very small corner roundings.

• Unwrap the faces to texture to create a UV map

• Displace the faces with a modifier