Texture Paint Problem

Hello,
I have an issue with texture. So, I have copied a mesh from blendswap that’s CC0, and I just tried to copy the texture from that mesh onto my mesh. I know this isn’t a smart idea, but the texture looks really good so I decided to copy and paste it. The problem is that when I paste that texture on my mesh, most of my mesh becomes black and some of it has the cool texture. Does anyone know how to fix this? I know what I did wasn’t smart, but I am a noob at blender and can’t make good textures :frowning: On the blendswap page, the artist said he used texture paint or something. I am very sorry but I can’t post the blender file cause blenderartists won’t let me since I am new :frowning:

1 Like

Unless the mesh you’re pulling the texture from is using a tileable texture, you won’t be able to just copy and paste it onto a new mesh. If the texture has islands of textures surrounded by blank spaces, it’s definitely not tileable, and your model doesn’t know where that texture information goes. So the black pixels around the texture islands can go anywhere (or more accurately, they’ll go to their equivalent location on your mesh’s uvs)

If it is tileable, check the UVs or change the mapping. You may need to properly unwrap your mesh if you haven’t yet, or set the mapping to box mapping. UVs tell 3D programs where the texture pixels are mapped to on your mesh. Box mapping projects the texture around the mesh, regardless of the UVs. To go that route, do a search on youtube for “box mapping blender”. This won’t work if the textures are designed for specific uv islands though.

oh ok i see.

Thanks for your help

You’re welcome. We were all new at one point.

It occurs to me that since you’re new, I should probably point you in the direction of some well known, free CC-0 (basically unrestricted, public domain) tileable textures you could use.