Texture painting isn't working as it should

This is my first time attempting texture painting. I followed this tutorial https://youtu.be/u9nE2Xg6Jgk but now I’m stuck. Firstly, I don’t think a UV map has been made of my object because no matter how many times I try and make one, it does not show up in the left side of the Texture Paint workspace. I did sculpt my object if that has any affect on it at all.

Two, after making an base colour, no matter what size the brush is, it colours in the entire object. I then tried just making lines on the left hand image to see what happens and well, the image below is what I got after drawing circles on it. Only a few random spots under the object get any sort of extra colour.

So I started over, tried making the base colour 2048x2048 and I crashed blender, but right before the crash, only those small areas changed colour yet again.

Please help. I’m not sure what I’ve done wrong. I’m loving blender and the sculpt mode but this has got me stumped. I really, really want to get this right!

Edit: Why is this being flagged as advertising? This was a problem I was facing.

Everything you’re describing sounds like a UV issue. Take your model into Edit mode, select everything, press U, and choose Smart Unwrap. (It may not be the best unwrapped method, but it will at least allow you to paint.)

I’ve compiled some other texture painting problems in this video:

I’m too lazy to type them out, but you may find them helpful :man_shrugging:

So I’m pretty sure I have everything selected;

I press U, select smart UV project and click ok. I would have thought it would show up in the UV editor in the top right, but I’ve got nothing so far. I have done a test to see if it works with a basic cube and it does.

I’ve watched the video and checked all the basic things and nothing seems to be amiss. I think it is the creation of the UV project that’s throwing it off.

Edit: Why is this being flagged as advertising? This was a problem I was facing.