The blender interface , I am confused

I have been using blender for about 7 months now and I get do some pretty decent models and animations. One things I always heard though is that it is a hard interface to use. Why? I thought it was smart giving the scroll wheel a lot of the power to move around the screen so hot keys weren’t needed, and also I thought the hot key placement and names were good as well(S for Scale, R for Rotate,ect).

In light of thinking there might be an easier one I looked at the xsi mod tool and after about 4 hours , I was sort of stumped. It seemed that I needed to press 6 different buttons to move and circle around my project and a lot of the tutorials online used a different interface so it was kind of hard to follow. I noticed this as well in other downloads. Now that that story is out of the way, is blender the only one with this kind of interface? I am not bashing it, on the contrary I like it a lot , but it seemed odd that so many other products had similar interfaces while blenders so was so different.

Thanks

bigger is not necessarily better.

Max and Maya and XSI are much bigger programs, both in cost and features and code size.

Maybe we need 3DS MAX interface?

Yes I think we need.

Helo Endi! Yes we need 3ds MAX interface. Blender’s gui bad - 3ds gui good.
I hope the Blender coders will throw the gui into the trashcan and swithch to 3ds MAX gui.

Yes I think Endi says very good things about the gui.

Endi, what do you think about Maya gui? Maybe better that 3ds MAX. (Of course 3ds MAX gui is very good.)

Endis, what do you think about Windows Paint gui?

Ah many Endi! And all of them tells very good things about the Blender’s GUI.

Endi, you’re an excellent artist, but you should be kept away from interface threads.

Why? What is your problem with 3ds MAX gui?