The Chronicles of a Newbie 3D Artist

Good Afternoon fellow Blender Artists,
This is going to be a chronicle, a journey and a place where I can record my progress from a non artist to a decent artist. I’ve had no serious art experience. The closest I came to producing decent artwork was when we had to do draw a fellow classmate in secondary education art class. I thought I did pretty well and I can usually draw the human figure as long as I have a reference. However, let’s say that I’m a total newbie when it comes to this.

To change that, I went to the library and got out books on how to draw so I’m going through those slowly. In terms of blender knowledge, I only picked up the program about a week ago. My 3D knowledge is also brief and the only time I’ve come close was in my Aerospace Engineering degree course where we had to do design classes (doing ortho views of 3D objects was tedious) and Autocad v13. Many moons ago.

Since then I’ve never really used it, although the lessons did serve their purpose as the theory of 3D space is not lost on me (plus I play a Star Trek Text Mush where you fly around in 3D - now that is a brain twister having to imagine a non graphical ship flying around other objects in 3D space).

Anyway back to 3D art, the main reason why I downloaded Blender was that I had an idea for a novel so I looked at a way to record my ideas as I’m quite a visual person when it comes to information. As I investigated more into what Blender could do, I got inspired by the main creations that I saw around the web. So that’s what I’ve been doing everyday for about 2-3 hours, learning as much as I can. As I’ve played around with Blender, I’ve had other ideas which I’ve been writing down including two animated shorts (One I want to develop for my son so that he can watch them).