THe Domino that couldn't fall

Hello.

Here’s a little animation (my first one really) I made in a rush, originally intended for a contest. I started modeling two days before the deadline and missed it by just 5 minutes. Oh well. :slight_smile: Here it is on Vimeo:

http://vimeo.com/1511389

I’m quite new to Blender, so any suggestions on how to make the animation better would be great. (I had the biggest problems with the jump rope and the water in the pool). I’d also like to make the story a bit longer, so if you can think of any other fitness activities that the dominoes could be doing, do tell.

Thanks for watching,

Mad

nice story!

couple of crits:

• it’s very white… I understand it’s a style, but sometimes you loose easily the dominoes against the ground… so little more shades could’ve helped with that… also you could play with lighting and shadows.

• here and there it’s a bit slow. especially the water.

as for other activities… maybe one of those TV Shop electronical gadgets that you just strap on as a belt and magic happens :slight_smile: or pushups, as he has no hands, that would be interesting to see :slight_smile:

anyways, good job. congrats.

.b

very nice.
the simple style looks really good & suits the story.
i do like the simple eyes, the are very well done.
congrats also.

Wow that’s cool! I would add more samples for the motion blur but other than that I really like it.

Thanks for the comments so far!

About the white - As I had very little time, I didn’t bother with materials until the end and by then I kind of liked the plain look. But I’ll try to fix it to look better.

About the funky pool water - I only had time to bake it once, so that’s what came out. :smiley:
Any suggestions, how to make it more water-ish?

And about the motion blur - I didn’t actually use any in blender, it came from Adobe Premiere when compressing the final video to wmv. :stuck_out_tongue:

Also, I can’t believe I typed the topic name like that…