The importance of light

Most of the time when 3D is ordered to show a product (especially ceramic tiles), it is requested that the scene is super illuminated, that there is no space in shadow, white light that does not affect the tone of the product (we will not comment on how this affects the different monitors, printing varnishes or directly the lighting of the room in which a catalog is viewed), a strong light but not burning, that the surrounding objects do not contaminate with its reflection, etc… In short, a situation that would never occur in real life.

Is it really worth creating such an unreal scene? For this purpose, isn’t it better to take a studio photo of the piece or directly show the lab chart?

Light plays a crucial role in any rendering, as it is capable of captivating the client’s attention, highlighting every detail and transforming a mundane space into a fascinating scene!

15 Likes

I make my living doing interior visualizations and have worked with a few interior designers for a while and now I am starting to do interior design myself. I have to look at product photos for things like ceramic tiles all the time and have done it for years and my experience is that yes, neutral and carefully considered and controlled light is extremely important for products. First of all, if we are talking about visualizations, every time I see a visualization of a product, I never ever trust it. No matter how well it’s made, it’s always an interpretation and it’s a mistake to trust it. It could be poorly made and so the colors might not show well, or it could be very well made and then the look might be enhanced and not realistic as well and you can never know and on top of that even if it’s a photo, that’s the same deal - you cannot even trust photographs, because of different lighting, different camera settings and digital color representation in general. And on top of that even if you hold the product in your hands there is still a problem(this is getting r