The Pedalternorotandomovens (MC Escher's creature)

Hello everyone,

Here’s a new project I’ve been working on for the past two days : meet the Pedalternorotandomovens ! It appears on two of MC Escher’s drawings. I liked the little fella and thought I could make a revised version in Blender, maybe even animate it (although I haven’t done any rigging or animating yet…).

Comments and constructive crits are welcome. I need a little advice on the texture… I don’t really know which color I should give him. I was thinking maybe green… suggestions regarding the modelling or the rigging are also quite welcome ! I’m quite new to Blender and have only been using it for 2 months, so bear with me :slight_smile:

On the pic you can also see Escher’s original version. I made less human leg, added little spikes and two holes for the nose.

GTR

Attachments

That would be awesome if you animated it. Escher is one of my favorite artists, and I remember that drawing well. It rolls up into a ball, and then back to the form that you have it in now. I like it so-far.

That’s a short name! Just watch the boxiness its not quite that boxy in the image. Can’t wait to see how you attempt to do the blending into a 2d image. That stuff is mind boggling!

Nice realisation in 3d.

Aligorith

The tail is a bit short…

well done… really smooth… can we see the wires? :stuck_out_tongue:

Hello everyone,

sorry for the late update… I’ve been very busy lately.

Unfortunately, there’s not that much to see I have to admit. I did a little tweaking on the legs and the tail and made his body look a bit more curly. Now the next step is rigging… I’ve been trying to figure out how exactly I should do this, but have failed miserably as of now !