This is just awful, but it took me so long im gonna share it anyway...

so i posted my first ever charachter animation a while ago in the Animations section, and it was prettymuch ignored, so im posting my second attempt here.

It would seem that my lighting modeling and lip syncing skills have improved, but my charachter animation (movement and expressiveness) have fallen, so im not particularly proud of this one, but it took me a few days so i uploaded it anyway, in case anyone here feels like they know what im doing wrong.

my main problem was obviously the weight paining, i couldnt get a smooth transition when his limbs moved, which is a shame because i quite liked the model itself. :frowning:

anyway, have a look, tell me what ya think,

cheers.

Btw, the title of your post has got to be one of the funniest ones I’ve ever read. Unfortunately I’m not an expert on weight painting so I can’t help you there.

It looks like you might want to change the order of your armature and subsurf in your modifier stack.

I offer this because I experienced a similar problem with odd deformations and struggled with my weight painting over and over again. Then I finally realized my armature was modifying the pre-subsurfed model but those modifications were being rendered on the subsurfed model–which all translated to ugly deformations.

I don’t know enough about any of this to be sure if you are having the same problem, but I figured I’d throw it out there just in case.

(Someone else may be able to say whether I’m way off-base.)

hmmm,

i didnt subsurface, i subdivided and then set to smooth,

could that be the problem? 'cos i always do that. :eek: