This paper could make real GI for Project Durian possible

It can give similar to better looking results than photon mapping, but renders a whole lot faster.

The concept and everything needed for implementation is in the paper, it supposedly can render fast enough to be used by animators.

Photon mapping is a tried-and-proven GI method, while this, I don’t know, looks like a newly introduced method that is not tested in real production.

Erm… um…

Its a Pixar paper…

I’m fairly certain we have all seen this already. Farsthary included…but it does seem like a decent work flow(renderer workflow)…

From the looks of thing, and i am no expert on 3d stuff so am probably dead wrong, isn’t this an extension of AAO, which I think was also from a Pixar paper and was pretty new when first implimented in Blender.

p.s Huh! I got to the second page it is based on AAO which makes me wonder if any of you skeptical dudes read the paper before commenting. It could be a useful and cool extension of AAO

I am afraid this will be another lightcuts project for Blender. Still not sure whether it will be integrated in Blender or not.

I’m pretty sure that this paper has come up before and was already implemented as part of the AAO in the code for peach …just “commented out” because it caused some issue or other…

Yeah, the images from surfs up, pirates of the carribean and the fact that its a core feature in prman 14 and 3delight probably mean its not ready for production.

In other news, apart from the smoothness and speed of rendering, a key part of point based occlusion is generating the point cache itself. You need a fast way of dicing your scene into points, ideally taking displacement into account, and points as small as possible. micropoints if you will. like micro…polygons… hmm…