Thoughts on Alternative integrated Engines in Blender. Keep it nice please. :)

UPBGE or ARMORY 3D? I’ve seen both mentioned around here.
I don’t want to start a flame war, I’m just trying to gather info and people’s thoughts. We’ve seen writing on the wall for the BGE, and I’m looking at alternatives. What seems interesting about UPBGE or Armory is their integration with Blender.
Has anyone dabbled much in either of these?
At first glace I do have to say Armory render engine looks light years better than Upbge, but I don’t know much about either.
I’d be curious to hear your thoughts. Both see like interesting alternatives to the BGE.
M

P.S. Another caveat is that I’m a visual artist, not a coder. Yes I know, I need to learn… it would be better… and in time I hope I do, but what I like about what I’ve seen from Armory is the node based coding system they have. It looks fairly easy to learn and intuitive.

i hear armory is supposed to have good visual scripting.

upbge is kind of big scrambled mess at the moment.

Armoy is funded.
“Armory gets released as a fully free and open-source project, forever.”
I’m looking forward to trying it out. :star_struck:

You were always free to use any game engine you like. This did not change.

Comparing game engines makes not much sense in a forum that aims for a very specific game engine. It often leads to flame wars and is therefore not allowed.

This does not mean you are not allowed to discuss other game engines. This discussions should be placed in an own topic with a fitting category forusing on the single game engine.

You could indeed talk about Blender and how it interacts with different game engines (unfortunatelly the title of this topic does makes that really clear to me). This is a big topic on Blender since years.

2 Likes

The wish to use other game engines than the BGE is pretty old.

Non-Integrated development Environment

The “offical” workflow is that you

1. use Blender to create your 3D content.