Tilted earth orbiting around the sun while rotating on its axis

What am I doing wrong? I am a newbie that has searched Youtube for videos that are solving my problem, but I can’t find any. Here is what I am struggling with: https://vimeo.com/325755754

What you’re trying to do and what’s the problem?

Hi! I am trying to animate how the earth is orbiting the sun with a tilted axis. But I can’t get the tilting right.

This post explains how you can achieve that:

I couldn’t resist:
earth_orbiting_sun

I cannot believe how I recorded this loop seamlessly by manually starting/stopping gif recorder! :exploding_head:

The tilt axis shouldn’t be rotating, it should be tilting the same direction the whole time.

1 Like

Done.
Sun - Planet Motion.blend (497.9 KB)

I used an extra empty for the planet. The planet mesh is animated (on the Z axis only), and parented to the tilt empty (The empty with x, y, z displayed on it). This is the one that controls the tilt.
Then, I used an object constraint (Copy Location) so that it follows the planet location empty, which has been parented to the sun.

Basically, the relationship goes as follows:
Animated planet mesh parented to tilt empty, constrained to planet location empty, parented to the sun.

Perfect! Thank you to both of you! Now I just have to google what constrained means. So happy!!

Object constraints are basically just modifiers but effect the whole object, and not modify it’s geometry, e.g. following a curve, copying another object’s rotation/location/scale, force an object to look towards another. That kind of stuff.

Constraint

Thank you! That I understood. Blender is fascinating.

Hi Kim,

Welcome to the world of 3D and Blender.

But parenting and constraining isn’t just something in Blender, it’s part of every 3D application workflow out there.