Tips for RPG?

Hi,

I’m still new with BGE, I wanted to have tips about making a RPG, I’ll be inspired by Final Fantasy 7-8-9.
A world with precalculated background and almost no fights. (Except maybe boss and some occasional fight)
An external world with enemies we encounter randomly.

I’ll take my time, it’s not my job, I do 3D for fun.

• How many polygons for characters?

• How many polygons for enemies?

• Can we switch from scene A to scene B and vice-versa indefinitely? (to have something clear, I’ll create a scene for each locations)

• Is it feasible?

I’m alone doing this, maybe it will be a very short game (like a 10 minute game) because it seems like a huge amount of work.

Thanks!

Nobody can answer your questions about polycounts. It will depend on many factors, none of which are obvious before you have a prototype of some sort, you know your target hardware, art direction, have an idea of how many characters appear on screen, etc.

Also don’t use BGE. It’s just never been a very good engine. Pick a different one, something easy to work with, like UE4 or Godot. Heck, even Armory which is in early alpha is probably a better choice than the BGE at this point.

Making a short game by yourself is feasible, but will still take you a long time. Making a 50 hour epic is not.

for scene switching, from what limited exposure i have, seems very stable. i personally use blend file switching. might be a bit slower, but its more flexible.

with use of LOD, you can have very high poly characters. the player shouldnt need any LOD, and by the sound of fixed camera angles, LOD becomes even less important since there wont be much depth.

i would say the bge is more than capable of handling a project like this. bge is most limited by dynamic lighting, which a static rendered scene will have very little of.