Total newby render question

I apologise in advance for this question.
I have been using sketchup for several years. I am trying my best to get y head around blender. in this instance I have imported a Colada.dae file created in Sketchup to try and get my head around Evee rendering. I have watched videos and have imported the file, but honestly I have no idea what to do next. Can anyone point me in the right direction just to get started.

Have got as far as this

That’s a broad question and a copy of the blend-file would help.

Hi @stevd, I’m not sure, what your problem is exactly or what you want us to help with.

You want to see the rendered preview? Please enable the shading mode ‘rendered’ in the top right of the viewport.

If you want to render out a final image, press f12 to render and then f3 to save it.

Hi stevd, welcome to blender! :slight_smile:

The manual isn’t ready yet, a lot applies to the former Blender version still, but there’s a chapter about Eevee already, maybe you want to have a look: Eevee Renderer

you can make a still render by hitting F12 and go to the render tab.

But if you want to improve the rendering, you need to :

• Set some lighting (add lights and environment)
  • Tweak the materials so they look more realistic.
  • maybe you want to add some camera moves to output an animation.

All these are broad subjects, so maybe you can tell us more about what you want to do so we can go a bit more into the details.

Thanks for the assistance and replies. Is feeling totally daunted by the Blender UI/workflow.
I have a lot of experince with Sketchup. Autocad. Archicad and various render engines, is it normal to feel so stupid trying to understand blender as I do now?

Yes, it is normal. You are trying to obtain something from a beta version of an unknown software.
Videos that you have seen, may already be partially outdated because 2.8 is changed, everyday or their author is making the assumption that you already know Blender.