Trouble making a hole with a cylinder and boolean

I’ve imported an obj of an organic sort of disc. I’d like to make a hole through the middle of it (think of a wheel you want to slide on an axle). I figured pushing a cylinder through it, using the disc as the main object, and then applying a boolean difference using the cylinder as the target would take care of it. Instead, nothing seems to happen. Blender 4.1.1 thinks for a moment, the boolean panel disappears, and deleting the cylinder reveals the disk was unaffected. I’d dearly like to include the file, but the forum won’t let me as I’m a newb. Any tips greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Ah, sorry did not quite read yr post correctly,

If you give a few likes to posts and generally interact the forum will allow you to upload a file and image.

In the meantime is yr disc 2d? booleans dont like that so try some thickness.

Hope that helps

Thanks for the reply. The disk is 3D. Here’s a link to a screenshot of my workspace.

No target object has been selected. :thinking:
If there is no change after selecting the target, try changing the setting to Fast.
※ Normally, when you use Boolean, the cylinder won’t go away and stay the same. Try hiding the cylinder.

Thanks for the reply. When I select the cylinder, Blender seems to make a copy of it and unions it with the disk. Here’s a video of the operation in which I delete the cylinder after applying the difference operator and try clicking on the remaining cylinder which just selects the entire union’d object.

Make sure that the face direction is normal. (Check face orientation)
Blue is normal and red is upside down.
Correcting flipped Face is Shift + N after full selection in Edit mode.

Both objects appear to be normal (looks like the forum letting me upload images now, but still won’t let me upload “attachments” like the blender file).

Have you tried using the Bool Tool addon ??

After enabling the addon, click the cylinder, then shift click the disc.