Trying to make an oval shape on an object

Hello readers !

I lost a jewell I really care about so I just get into blender to try to model it as close as possible in order to give this to someone who could make it. In other words : I am a Blender noob !

As mentionned I am trying to make an oval shape on a part of an object. My theory knowledge is so short that I think the best way is to illustrate :

Here a little description of what I want with my poor modeling vocabulary : the shape I want to add is already drawn but it seems that the subsurf(on the global object, btw all is in a single object) is not applying the way I want to : the “extrude” is extending below and above the shape and the vertices are messing up and generate unwanted shapes because of subsurf.

I know about adding edges to “contain” the subsurf (as you can see on the object) but all I tried didn’t get rid off the unwanted shapes.

If someone could please give me a link to the theory I need to solve this problem or at least put in in pertinent words (so I can google it more efficiently).

Thanks for your attention !

NB : after writing this message I found a way to upload my blend file so there it is if you want to mess with :wink: [final]BeforeOvals.blend (471 KB)

Well you’ve got tri’s which is a bad start. Now are you trying to cut an oval shaped hole through the this object, or are you trying to add some type of shape extruding outwards, like a pimple? There is a difference in how you’ll need to proceed. And no need to keep lamenting on your inexperience, just try and describe what you want in your best terms. Even a poorly drawn sketch can be useful.

Doing what I did below is very easy. If you need to cut a hole through it will be a bit more involved. You could try a boolean modifier but that usually ends in disaster.

I didn’t quite get what the end result should look like but I checked your file and made some changes.

Here’s what was wrong (and how to fix):